Print Email

About Study Groups  |  Research Highlights  |  Workshops  |  Surveys  |  Study Group Resources

MASCC Study Groups

Be a MASCC Leader - Want to Chair or Vice-Chair a Study Group?  Contact Don Gubitosa

Antiemetics
The Antiemetics Study Group focuses on the management of nausea and vomiting induced by chemotherapy and radiotherapy. The group has produced Antiemetic Practice Guidelines, conducts research, and works to promote the transfer of knowledge from clinical trials to clinical practice.
Chair: Matti Aapro, MD (maapro@genolier.net) - Switzerland
Vice-Chair: Bernardo Rapoport, MD (brapoport@icon.co.za) - South Africa
Vice-Chair: Rita Wickham PhD, RN, AOCN (rita_wickham@yahoo.com) - USA

Bone
The Bone Study Group conducts research and develops guidelines for the prevention and treatment of skeletal complications of cancer and its treatments. Its members also work to increase awareness of these complications and increase knowledge about bone health.
Chair:  Ourania Nicolatou-Galitis, DDS (nicolatou.galitis@hotmail.com) - Greece
Vice-Chair:  Winston Tan, MD (Tan.winston@mayo.edu) - USA
Vice-Chair: Beatrice Edwards, MD (BEdwards@MDAnderson.org) - USA

Education
The Education Study Group seeks to make patient education an integral part of supportive cancer care and to improve patient education in numerous countries and languages. Projects include the development and pilot testing of a patient guide and evaluating the effectiveness of patient education in several languages and cultural settings.
Chair: Paz Fernández-Ortega, RN, MSc, PhD (mpax2001@yahoo.es) - Spain
Vice-Chair: Manon Lemonde, PhD, RN (manon.lemonde@uoit.ca)- Canada
Vice-Chair: Judy Phillips, DNP, FNP-BC, AOCN (jppdap@msn.com) - USA

Fatigue
The Fatigue Study Group’s primary goal is multidisciplinary research to understand fatigue mechanisms and the experience of fatigue from diagnosis through treatment, rehabilitation, survivorship, and the end of life. The group collaborates with other MASCC Study Groups on research and workshops.
Chair: Karen Mustian, PhD (Karen_mustian@urmc.rochester.edu)  - USA
Vice-Chair: Stephen R Samuel, PhD, MPT (stevers85@gmail.com) - India
Vice-Chair: Debra Barton RN, PhD, AOCN, FAAN (debbartn@umich.edu) - USA

Geriatrics
The Geriatrics Study Group promotes a focus on geriatric oncology within MASCC and serves as a resource for other MASCC Study Groups. It also promotes communication with other professional societies with an interest in geriatric oncology and supportive care. Goals include developing guidelines for managing cancer-treatment complications in older adults.
Chair: Christopher Steer, MBBS, FRACP (csteer@bordermedonc.com.au) - Australia
Vice-Chair: Holly Holmes, MD (Holly.M.Holmes@uth.tmc.edu) - USA

Hemostasis
The Hemostasis Study Group seeks to provide guidance and guidelines to healthcare providers regarding bleeding and clotting complications in cancer patients from diagnosis to the end of life. Goals include an increased awareness of coagulation abnormalities across the cancer continuum and evidence-based treatments for patients with bleeding or clotting complications.
Chair: Carmen Escalante, MD (cescalan@mdanderson.org) - USA
Vice-Chair: Thomas Butler, MD (tbutler@health.southalabama.edu) - USA
Vice-Chair: Carme Font, MD (cfont@clinic.ub.es) - Spain

Mucositis
The Mucositis Study Group's main goal is to improve outcomes of patients with oral and gastrointestinal mucositis associated with anticancer therapies. The group comprises members of both MASCC and ISOO and aims to improve the design and conduct of clinical investigations, disseminate up-to-date educational information, and serve as a resource for other investigators, clinicians, and patients. 
Chair: Sharon Elad, DMD MSc (Selad@urmc.rochester.edu) - USA
Vice-Chair: Paolo Bossi, MD (Paolo.Bossi@istitutotumori.mi.it) - Italy 
Vice-Chair: Karis Cheng, PhD, RN (karis_cheng@nuhs.edu.sg) - Singapore

Neurological Complications
The Neurological Complications Study Group helps to raise awareness about the frequency, importance, and complexity of central and peripheral nervous system injuries induced by cancer treatments. These include cognitive and affective impairments, neuroendocrine dysfunction, and neuropathy. The group seeks to develop assessment tools, serve as a resource for other professionals, and develop practice guidelines.
Chair: Charles Loprinzi, MD (cloprinzi@mayo.edu) - USA
Vice-Chair: Alex Chan, PharmD (phaac@nus.edu.sg) - Singapore
Vice-Chair: Maryam Lustberg (Maryam.lustberg@osumc.edu) - USA

Neutropenia, Infection & Myelosuppression
The Neutropenia, Infection, and Myelosuppression Study Group addresses common immune system adverse effects of cancer chemotherapies and promotes the development of guidelines, such as the International Pediatric Fever and Neutropenia Guideline for the empiric management of pediatric fever and neutropenia. The prevention of febrile neutropenia in adults is another important topic of interest and research.
Chair: Jean Klastersky, MD (jean.klastersky@bordet.be) - Belgium
Vice-Chair: Bernardo Rapoport, MD (brapoport@icon.co.za) - South Africa

Nutrition and Cachexia
The Nutrition and Cachexia Study Group encourages broad-based research and state-of-the-art clinical practice in all areas of clinical nutrition as it relates to cancer. The group promotes awareness of existing guidelines for nutritional support and appropriate use of palliative and therapeutic strategies for managing anorexia and weight loss in patients with advanced cancer. Nutrition-based complementary therapy is another focus of this group.
Chair: Liz Isenring, PhD (e.isenring@uq.edu.au)  - Australia
Vice-Chair:  Egidio G. del Fabbro, MD (edelfabbro@vcu.edu) - USA

Oral Care
The Oral Care Study Group’s main goals are to enhance knowledge and develop guidelines regarding therapy-associated oral complications, such as xerostomia, dysgeusia, dysphagia, oral pain, fungal and viral infections, osteoradionecrosis, osteonecrosis, dental disease, and trismus. The Study Group comprises members of both MASCC and ISOO who are working together on reviewing the incidence and prevalence of oral complications, their management, effects on quality life, and economic impact. 
Chair: Kıvanç Bektaş Kayhan, MD (bektaskk@istanbul.edu.tr) - Turkey
Vice-Chair: Tanya Rouleau, DDS ( tanrou@hotmail.com ) - Canada 

Palliative Care
The Palliative Care Study Group seeks to foster international collaborations related to education and research in supportive and palliative oncology in order to improve the quality of cancer care. Recent research includes a Delphi survey to develop an international consensus on indicators for the integration of specialty palliative care and oncology programs for hospitalized advanced cancer patients.
Chair: Andrew Davies, MD (adavies12@nhs.net) - UK
Vice-Chair: David Hui, MD (dhui@mdanderson.org)- USA
Vice-Chair: Gregory Crawford, MD (gregory.crawford@adelaide.edu.au) - Australia

Pediatrics
The Pediatrics Study Group works to bridge the gap between research and clinical practice as it applies to children with cancer, for example by developing and updating guidelines for the supportive care of children with cancer. A current project involves updating guidelines for the care of children in the Netherlands.
Chair: Marianne van de Wetering, PhD, FCP(SA) MMed(SA) (m.d.vandewetering@amc.uva.nl) - The Netherlands
Vice-Chair: Andrea Orsey, MD, MSCE (aorsey@connecticutchildrens.org) - USA

Psychosocial
The Psychosocial Study Group aims to make the psychosocial dimensions of care, including appropriate assessment and interventions, an integral part of routine cancer care for all patients. The group serves as a resource to MASCC members, helping to raise awareness of psychosocial issues and meet members’ needs regarding aspects of psychosocial oncology. 
Chair: Lidia Schapira, MD (schapira@stanford.edu) - USA
Vice-Chair: Penelope Schofield, PhD (pschofield@swin.edu.au) - Australia

Rehabilitation, Survivorship & Quality of Life
The Rehabilitation, Survivorship, and Quality of Life Study Group works to optimize cancer patients’ quality of life and survivorship. Through research, education, and promotion of individualized goals and treatment plans, its members aim to improve physical, social, psychological, and vocational functioning within the limits imposed by cancer and its treatment.
Chair: Francisco Luis Pimentel, MD (
fpimentel@ua.pt) - Portugal
Vice-Chair: Raymond Chan, PhD, MAppSc, BN, RN, FACN (Raymond.Chan@qut.edu.au) - Australia

Skin Toxicities
The Skin Toxicities Study Group works to raise awareness of dermatological conditions in cancer patients and takes a leadership role in the emerging field of cancer-related skin toxicities management. Objectives include identifying new targets for treatment, developing management guidelines, and helping to educate patients about skin reactions. This Study Group also serves as a resource for multi-center clinical trials and translational studies.
Chair: Jennifer Choi, MD (Jennifer.choi@northwestern.edu) - USA
Vice-Chair: Mario E Lacouture, MD (lacoutuM@mskcc.org) - USA


Please contact the Study Group Chairs above with your questions.
MASCC Study Group Coordinator, Don Gubitosa