2020 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting Awards and Scholarship Recipients

The 2020 Annual Meeting in Seville, Spain has been postponed until 2021, the 2020 award recipients will be recognized at the 2021 virtual meeting.

Steven M Grunberg Memorial Award
Dr Melanie Lovell, MD, PhD, FRACP, FAChPM
Senior Staff Specialist, Palliative Care
Medical Head of Palliative Care, Hammond Health Sydney North
Centre for Learning & Research in Palliative Care, HammondCare
Clinical Associate Professor, Sydney Medical School
Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Health, University of Technology Sydney
A Cluster Randomised Controlled Trial of Guidelines and Screening with Implementation Strategies versus Guidelines and Screening Alone to Improve Pain in Adults with Cancer

Young Investigator Award Recipients

Outstanding Young Investigator
Emily Lam
Clinical Research Assistant, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Prospective Study of Patient-Reported Pain in Breast Radiotherapy

Young Investigator
Dr Uttiya Deb, M.B.B.S., MD
Medical Affairs, Oncology, Johnson & Johnson, India
Efficacy and Safety of Modafinil versus Dexamethsone in Cancer-Related Fatigue: A Prospective Randomized Controlled Study

Young Investigator
Dr Arjun Gupta, MD
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Rates of Appropriate Laxative Prophylaxis for Opioid-Induced Constipation in Veterans with Lung Cancer: A Retrospective Cohort Study

Young Investigator
Danbee Kang, PhD
Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul, Republic of Korea
Association Between Cancer Education Program and Clinical Outcomes: A Cohort Study

Young Investigator
Amber Kleckner, PhD
Research Assistant Professor, Wilmot Cancer Institute, University of Rochester, USA
The Interrelation Between Cancer-Related Fatigue and Diabetes: An Analysis of 440 Patients with Breast Cancer Undergoing Chemotherapy and Controls

Conference Scholarship Recipients

Conference Scholarship
Evgeniia Ananeva
Chelyabinsk Regional Center of Oncology, Chelyabinsk, Russia
Conquer Fear of Cancer Recurrence Program for Breast Cancer Patients in Russia

Conference Scholarship
Dr Marina Čalamać, MD
Institute for Oncology and Radiology of Serbia, Belgrade, Serbia
Direct Collaboration of a Multidisciplinary Tumor Board and a Supportive Care Team for Patients with Advanced Cancer

Conference Scholarship
Samya Dutta, M.B.B.S.
Burdwan Medical College, Burdwan, India
Chewable Vitamin C in the Management of Radiation-Induced Xerostomia: Is it the End of the Dark Tunnel?

Conference Scholarship
Vesile Yildiz Kabak, PT, PhD
Hacettepe University, Ankara, Turkey
Effect of Exercise Program on Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation Related Morbidities

Conference Scholarship
Sundar Kumar Veluswamy, PT, PhD
Department of Physiotherapy, Ramaiah Medical College, Bengaluru, India
Sarcopenia, Functional Capacity & Cancer Related Fatigue in Patients Undergoing Primary Cancer Therapies at a Tertiary Care Hospital in India

NOTE: There are no recipients in 2020 for the Cynthia Rittenberg Award.
NOTE: The Distinguished Service Award for 2020 was postponed until 2021.