Congratulations to Outstanding MASCC Members

MASCC Distinguished Service Award Recipients
2016 Matti Aapro - Switzerland
2015 Jørn Herrstedt - Denmark
2014 Dorothy Keefe - Australia
2013 Declan Walsh - Ireland
2012 Paul Hesketh - USA

2011 Linda Elting  - USA

2010 Cynthia Rittenberg - USA
2009 Mauritzio Tonato
2008 Douglas Peterson - USA
2007 Agnes Glaus - Switzerland
2006 Richard Gralla - USA
2005 Jean Klastersky - Belgium
2003 Hans-Jürg Senn
2002 Larry Einhorn - USA

We would like to Congratulate all our 2016 Annual Meeting Award Recipients.

Professor Li Zhang Appointed to MASCC Board of Directors
MASCC President David Warr, MD, PhD, is pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Li Zhang, MD, of Sun Yat-Sen University Center in Guangzhou, China to MASCC’s Board of Directors. Warr, who has visited China several times and met with prominent Chinese oncologists states that none are more influential in the area of supportive care as Dr. Zhang, who is recognized as a leader in research and a mentor to junior faculty. >> Read More

Sandra Mitchell Inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing
MASCC member Sandra Mitchell, PhD, CRNP, AOCN, was one of nine members of the Oncology Nursing Society who were inducted as Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing in October, 2015. >> Read More

Christine Miaskowski Inducted into International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame
MASCC member Christine Miaskowski, PhD, RN, FAAN, was one of 19 nurse researchers inducted this year into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame by the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). >> Read More

ASCO's B. J. Kennedy Award for Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology goes to MASCC member Matti Aapro. The B. J. Kennedy Award for Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership or contributed scientific work—laboratory, clinical, or epidemiologic—of major importance to the field of geriatric oncology.

Paz Fernández-Ortega Receives EONS Lifetime Achievement Award
The European Oncology Nursing Society has awarded its 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award to Paz Fernández-Ortega, RN, MSc, PhD. 
The award, from the EONS Executive Board, is given in recognition of outstanding personal and professional contributions to the field of Oncology Nursing. >> Read More

Honorary Lifetime Membership Awarded to MASCC Member Hans-Jürg Senn
Honorary Lifetime Membership status in MASCC has been awarded to Professor Hans-Jürg Senn, based on his commitment, vision and extraordinary service to MASCC and our journal. Along with Jean Klastersky and Steven Schimpff, Prof Senn founded MASCC 22 years ago. He also founded the Supportive Care in Cancer journal with Springer and served as the first Editor-in-Chief for 17 years. His leadership and unfailing support over the years has been fundamental to advancing this group as the largest and most successful supportive care society. Moreover, his contributions as a clinician researcher have improved the lives of cancer patients everywhere. We congratulate Professor Senn on this well-deserved recognition.  Dr. Senn was interviewed in the December 2013 Society News about his contributions to MASCC and Supportive Care in Cancer.