Awards and Scholarships

Distinguished Service Award

The MASCC Distinguished Service Award recognizes meritorious service and outstanding contributions to the MASCC and its mission. Winners are nominated by their peers and should demonstrate exemplary leadership and accomplishments in research, education, and/or clinical supportive cancer care. The award is presented each year at the MASCC Annual Meeting.

NOTE: Because the 2020 Annual Meeting in Seville, Spain has been postponed until 2021, the 2020 awardee will be recognized at the 2021 meeting.

 Previous Recipients
 Award Policy and Nomination Form

Young Investigator Awards

Every year, MASCC presents the Young Investigator Award (YIA) to recognize outstanding new-to-the-field investigators’ research accomplishments. The award is open to all junior investigators who have submitted an abstract to an upcoming MASCC annual meeting. YIAs are awarded to the first authors of the five abstracts with the highest scores. These abstracts are chosen from the top 10 percent of all abstracts submitted to the annual meeting.

 Young Investigator Award Policy and Application Instructions

NOTE: Because the 2020 Annual Meeting in Seville, Spain has been postponed until 2021, all 2020 awardees will be recognized at the 2021 meeting. 

The awardees for 2020 Young Investigator Award are:

Uttiya Deb, M.B.B.S.
Burdwan Medical College
Burdwan, India

Arjun Gupta, MD
Johns Hopkins University - Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Rates Of Appropriate Laxative Prophylaxis For Opioid-Induced Constipation In Veterans With Lung Cancer: A Retrospective Cohort Study

Emily Lam, BSc
University of Waterloo
Ontario, Canada
Prospective Study of Patient-Reported Pain in Breast Radiotherapy

Danbee Kang, PhD
Sungkyunkwan University
Seoul, Republic of Korea

Amber Kleckner, PhD
University of Rochester Medical Center - Rochester, New York, United States
The interrelation between cancer-related fatigue and diabetes: An analysis of 440 patients with breast cancer undergoing chemotherapy and controls

Annual Meeting Travel Scholarships 

MASCC is committed to increasing attendance of oncology healthcare professionals from low-income countries at its annual meetings. MASCC provides a limited number of travel scholarships for this purpose in cases where attendance would not be possible without financial assistance.

This scholarship is given to oncology healthcare professionals whose practice and/or research focuses on supportive care in cancer, such as physicians, nurses, social workers, pharmacists, dental hygienists, and psychologists. Qualified applicants must affirm their inability to attend the meeting without scholarship funds.

 Travel Assistance Scholarship Policy and Application Instructions 

NOTE: Because the 2020 Annual Meeting in Seville, Spain has been postponed until 2021, all 2020 awardees will be recognized at the 2021 meeting. 

The awardees for 2020 Travel Scholarships are:

Eugenia Ananeva
Chelyabinsk Regional Center of Oncology - Chelyabinsk, Russia

Marina Calamac, MD
Institute for Oncology and Radiology of Serbia - Belgrade, Serbia
Direct Collaboration Of A Multidisciplinary Tumor Board And Supportive Care Department For Patients With Advanced Cancer

Samya Dutta, M.B.B.S.
Burdwan Medical College
Burdwan, India
Chewable Vitamin C  In The Management Of Radiation-Induced Xerostomia: Is It The End Of The Dark Tunnel?

Vesile Yildiz Kabak, PT, PhD
Hacettepe University
Ankara, Turkey
Effect of Exercise Program on Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation Related Morbidities

Sundar Kumar Veluswamy, PT, PhD
Department of Physiotherapy, Ramaiah Medical College
Bengaluru, India

Cynthia Rittenberg Travel Scholarship

From among the Travel Scholarship recipients, the Cynthia Rittenberg Travel Scholarship may be awarded if the Awards Committee agrees that the nurse applicant with the highest score is a worthy applicant.

Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award

The Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award recognizes excellent scientific achievement in the field of supportive care in cancer by an individual MASCC member. The honor is awarded to the author of the highest-ranking abstract submitted to the Annual Meeting. This award is presented at the MASCC Annual Meeting and the recipient delivers the annual Steven Grunberg Lecture.

 Steven M. Grunberg Award Policy

Donate to the MASCC Development Fund  Help support our Scholarship programs.  Donate today.  >> more information 

For more information contact us at [email protected]

Privacy Notice.  In order to process applications, we need to collect some personal information.
For our MASCC Privacy Notice and details, click here.