Fatigue Awards

2021 Outstanding Junior Faculty Award:
Award recipient: Silvia Belloni, RN, MSc, PhD(s)
Abstract: A Systematic Review of Systematic Reviews and Pooled Meta-Analysis on Pharmacological Interventions to Improve Cancer-Related Fatigue
2021 Outstanding Trainee Research Award:
Award recipient: Gina Wong
Abstract: Patient-Reported Fatigue in Adjuvant Breast Radiotherapy
2021 Distinguished Scientific Laureate:
Award recipient: Karen Mustian, MD
2019 Outstanding Junior Faculty Award:
Award recipient: Jérôme Desrame, MD (France)
Abstract: The CIROCO Study: Evaluating the Correlation between Fatigue and Quality of Life in Cancer Patients Treated with Biosimilar Epoetin Alfa for Chemotherapy-Induced Anemia
2019 Outstanding Trainee Research Award:
Award recipient: Anna-Maria Platschek, PhD (Germany)
Abstract: Effects of Exercise on Cancer-Related Fatigue in Pediatric Oncology: A Comparison of an Inpatient Program at the Beginning and in the Middle of Cancer Therapy
2019 Distinguished Scientific Laureate:
Award recipient: Debra L. Barton, PhD, FAAN, RN (USA)
Debra L. Barton was named this year’s Distinguished Scientific Laureate in recognition of her distinguished academic and research career focusing on cancer symptom management, including cancer-related fatigue. Debra is a Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Rackham Graduate Studies at the University of Michigan’s School of Nursing. Her program of research evolved from her involvement and leadership in the Cancer Clinical Trials Network (CCTN) over the past 11 years. As Principal Investigator or co-PI, she has led 15 large Phase III randomized clinical trials in oncology symptom management, and 7 Phase II trials. She has received numerous grants to implement translational aims to explore mechanisms of action and symptom physiology in research focusing on cancer-related fatigue, cognitive dysfunction, sleep, nausea and vomiting, hot flashes, libido, vaginal atrophy, peripheral neuropathy. Debra has served as a member of MASCC’s Board of Directors (2016-2018), a past Vice-Chair of the Fatigue Study Group, and a member of MASCC’s most recent Strategic Planning Committee. She is a member of MASCC’s Study Groups on Fatigue, Psychosocial Issues, and Survivorship.
2018 Outstanding Trainee Research Award:
Award recipient: Julia Inglis, PhD (USA)
Abstract: A Longitudinal Assessment to Evaluate the Impact of Higher Body Mass Index on Cancer-Related Fatigue in Breast Cancer Patients Receiving Chemotherapy
2018 Outstanding Junior Faculty Research Award:
Award recipient: Carlos Fernandez, MD (USA)
Abstract: Cancer-Related Fatigue: Perception of Effort or Task Failure?
2018 Distinguished Scientific Laureate:
Award recipient: Karin Olson, PhD (Canada)
This year, the Fatigue Study Group honored Karin Olson, PhD, of the University of Alberta, with the award of Distinguished Scientific Laureate for her research career in supportive care and her contributions to MASCC and to the Fatigue Study Group.
2017  New Investigator Award:
Award recipient: Calvin L. Cole, PhD
Abstract: Interrelationship Between Improvements in Aerobic Capacity and Cancer-Related Fatigue in Prostate Cancer Patients.
2017 Junior Investigator Award:
Award recipient: Brenda O’Connor, MD
Abstract: Cancer-Related Fatigue: The Role of Mobile Technology in Assessment
Last Updated on Tuesday, June 29, 2021 12:28 PM