Print Email

Board of Directors: 2018-2020

The new Board held its first meeting on June 27th, prior to the Annual Meeting in Vienna. In addition to the Board members below, other voting members are MASCC President Raj Lalla, Andrew Davies (Annual Meeting Chair, 2019 and 2020), and Ian Olver (Immediate Past-President). Ex-officio members are Fred Ashbury, Melissa Chin, Leslie Johnson, and Jean Klastersky. Ourania Nicolatou-Galitis is the ISOO representative

Anna Boltong, PhD.
Anna is Head of Strategy & Support, Cancer Council Victoria, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Anna chairs MASCC’s Publications Committee.


Joanne Bowen, PhD, MPhil.
Joanne is an Associate Professor of Physiology, The University of Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia. Joanne is currently a member of MASCC’s Governance Committee.


Alexandre Chan, PharmD, MPH, FCCP, BCPS, BCOP.
Alex is an Associate Professor and Specialist Pharmacist, Department of Pharmacy, National University of Singapore. Alex is currently MASCC Treasurer, a member of the Executive Committee and the Awards Committee, and Vice-Chair of MASCC’s Neurological Complications Study Group.

Mellar Davis, MD, FCCP FAAHPM.
Mellar is a Professor of Medicine, Cleveland Clinic Lerner School of Medicine, Case Western Reserve University, and Director of Palliative Care, Geisinger Medical Center. He is currently a member of MASCC’s Awards Committee.

Joel Epstein, DMD, MSD.
Joel is Director of Oral Health Services and Professor of Oral Medicine at City of Hope, a cancer treatment and research center in Los Angeles, California, USA.

Rachel Gibson, PhD.
Rachel is Professor and Academic Dean, Division of Health Sciences, University of South Australia, Adelaide, South Australia. She is currently a member of MASCC’s Executive Committee and this year’s Annual Meeting Chair.

Jørn Herrstedt, MD, DMSc
Jørn is a Professor of Clinical Oncology, Head of Research, Head of Gynecological Oncology, Department of Clinical Oncology and Palliative Care Units, Zealand University Hospital, Roskilde, Denmark.

Mario Lacouture, MD.
Mario is an Attending Physician, Dermatology Service, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, In New York, NY, USA. He is currently Vice-Chair of MASCC’s Skin Toxicities Study Group.

Charles Loprinzi, MD.
Charles is a Medical Oncologist, currently Regis Professor of Breast Cancer Research at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, USA. He is currently Chair of MASCC’S Neurological Complications Study Group.

Carla Ripamonti, MD.
Carla specializes in Oncology and Clinical Pharmacology. She is currently Head, Oncology - Supportive Care Unit, Department of Onco-Hematology, Fondazione IRCCS, Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori, in Milano, Italy. Carla is currently a member of MASCC’s Membership Committee and Nominating Committee.

Florian Scotté, MD, PhD.
Florian is a medical oncologist and currently Head of the Supportive Care Department, Foch Hospital, Department of Medical Oncology and Supportive care, in Suresnes, France. Florian is currently a member of MASCC’s Nominating Committee.

Declan Walsh, MD, MSc, FACP, FRCP(Ed).
Declan is a Professor of Medicine and Chair, Department of Supportive Oncology, Atrium Health (formerly Carolinas HealthCare System), Levine Cancer Institute, Charlotte, North Carolina, USA.

Annie Young, BSc, SRN, PhD.
Annie is a Professor of Nursing, Warwick Medical School and University Hospitals, Coventry and Warwickshire. She is currently affiliated with the Warwick Clinical Trials Unit, Cancer Research Centre, Warwick Medical School, UK.