2015 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting Highlights
Supportive Care in Cancer • Copenhagen, Denmark • June 25-27, 2015

•   Webcasts(presentations)     •     Abstracts 2015 (E-book)     •     Scientific Program 2015 
•   CME/CPD Accreditation      •      Photo Gallery      •    Workshops (overview)

2015 Support

MASCC 2015 Annual Meeting Highlights

The MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting took place in Copenhagen, Denmark, June 25-27. Meeting Chair Jørn Herrstedt and the Scientific Committee put together an exciting program of presentations, workshops, discussions, and debates on treatments and techniques for minimizing treatment-induced side effects, as well as on the psychological, social, and spiritual dimensions of cancer diagnosis and treatment. The meeting included three plenary sessions, five in-depth workshops, a wide range of parallel sessions, pro-and-con debates, and opportunities to challenge the experts. The meeting also featured joint sessions with the European Oncology Nursing Society (EONS), the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC), and the Danish Professional Society for Cancer Nurses (FSK). A total of 960 abstracts were submitted this year, of which about 800 were selected for either oral or poster presentation. 

This year, 1707 delegates, representing 74 different countries, attended the meeting, with 57% from Western Europe, 18% from North America, 15% from East Asia and the Pacific Area, and 5% from Eastern Europe, as well as representation from Africa, the Middle East, and Central and South America. Attendees included clinical practitioners and researchers from oncology, hematology, hospice and palliative care professions, dentistry, and several other disciplines, as well as representatives from industry. Many new members joined MASCC at the meeting, including our 1,000th member. New members had an opportunity to mingle and meet MASCC leaders at a New Member Reception.

Opening Ceremony

2015 Opening Ceremonies

Distinguished Service Award – Jørn Herrstedt

Jørn Herrstedt is this year’s recipient of the MASCC Distinguished Service Award. The Award recognizes meritorious achievement and outstanding contributions to the Society and its mission. Candidates are nominated by their peers in recognition of exemplary leadership and accomplishments in supporting the Society’s mission.

Jørn Herrstedt is an internationally recognized oncologist whose dedication to MASCC’s mission and goals has contributed to the Society’s global visibility and impact. He has repeatedly demonstrated an ability to integrate his clinical and scientific expertise, along with exceptional leadership skills, to further the aims of MASCC around the world. Jørn is known for his keen intellect, a gift for leadership, and an ability to bring individuals together to work toward a common goal. See full story: Jørn Herrstedt Awarded MASCC’s Distinguished Service Award


Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award - Alexandre Chan
The Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award was presented to Alexandre Chan of National University, Singapore. The Award is made in recognition of scientific excellence, leadership and mentoring in the field of supportive care in cancer. At the Steven Grunberg Memorial Award Session on Pharmaceutical Supportive Care, Chan presented his paper on “Pharmacogenomics in Supportive Care.”


Outstanding Young InvestigatorOutstanding Young Investigator - Terence Ng 
One Young Investigator awardee is selected each year as the Outstanding Young Investigator. The award this year went to Terence Ng of Singapore. Ng’s abstract was titled, “Estrogen Receptor Alpha (ESR1) Genetic Polymorphisms and the Risk of Chemotherapy-Associated Cognitive Impairment in Early-Stage Breast Cancer (ESBC) Patients.” Ng is a PhD Candidate in the Department of Pharmacy, National University, Singapore.


Young Investigator Awards
This year the MASCC Awards Committee awarded Young Investigator Awards to nine applicants. Successful applicants must be less than 40 years old and their abstracts must rank in the top 20% of those submitted. Congratulations to all of the following Young Investigators:


  • Mirium Götte (Germany), “Development of a Two-Part Exercise Model to Enhance Physical Activity Levels in Pediatric Cancer Patients During Acute Cancer Treatment”
  • Gregory Levin (Canada), “Complementary Medicine Education for Oncology Professionals in Alberta: Evaluation of an Online Program”
  • Mariana Chavez MacGregor (USA), “Antiemesis Prophylaxis Among Beast Cancer (BC) Patients Receiving Anthracyline-Based Chemotherapy: A Population-Based Study”
  • Julie McDonald (Canada), “Exploring the Complexities of Caregiver Quality of Life: Qualitative Results From a Trial of Early Palliative Care”
  • Yvonne Nestoriuc (Germany), “Expectation Effects in Endocrine Treatment of Breast Cancer: A Two-Year Prospective Clinical Cohort Study”
  • Alison Pearce (Ireland), “Comparing the Costs of Three Prostate Cancer Follow-Up Strategies: A Cost-Minimisation Analysis”
  • Anita Peoples (USA), “Examining the Role of Club Cell Secretary Protein (CCSP) as a Clinical Marker for Radiotherapy-Induced Lung Injury (RILI)”
  • Stephen Samuel (India), “Impact and Feasibility of an Exercise Program During Chemo-Radiotherapy in Head and Neck Cancer Survivors: A Randomized Controlled Trial”

Travel Scholarship Awards
Travel scholarships are awarded to applicants from developing countries to help cover travel expenses to attend the MASCC Annual Meeting.

2015 Travel Scholarships
This year’s recipients were A. Allenidekania (Indonesia), Ajay Gogia (India), Andrew Olagunju (Nigeria), Aneta Dimitrovska (Macedonia), Apeksha Mainali (Nepal), Galina Kuznecova (Latvia), José Francisco Meneses-Echávez (Colombia), Josianne Bicker (Malta), Mahesh Menon (India), Raviteja Miriyala (India), Sandip Mukhopadhyay (India), Singh Harminder (India), Stella M. Rithara (Kenya), and Zeliha Koç (Turkey).

2015 Cynthia N. Rittenberg Travel Scholarship - A. Allenidekania
From among the Travel Scholarship applicants, the highest-ranking nurse applicant is awarded the Cynthia N. Rittenberg Travel Scholarship. This year the award went to A. Allenidekania of Indonesia.

2015 Steven M. Grunberg Travel Scholarship
The Steven M. Grunberg Travel Scholarship was awarded this year to to Shah Alam Kahn of India.

Fatigue Study Group New Investigator Award
Each year, the Fatigue Study Group selects two award winners from the among the fatigue abstracts submitted to the meeting. This year, Charles S. Kamen, from the University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, New York, was the recipient of the MASCC Fatigue Study Group Trainee Abstract Award for his abstract, “Exercise Intervention to Reduce Disparities in Fatigue and Depression Among LGBT Cancer Survivors.” Norman J. Brito-Dellan, from the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas, received the MASCC Fatigue Study Group Early Investigator Abstract Award for his abstract, “Utilizing Electronic Technology to Measure Patient-Reported Outcome Completion Time in a Clinical Practice.”

This year’s award winners are:
2015 Fatigue-Kamen2015 Fatigue-Brito-Dellan


2015 Symposium Chair: Jørn Herrstedt
Congress Organizer: Kenes International