MASCC/ISOO 2017 Meeting Highlights

E-Posters | Abstracts  |  Scientific Program  |  Workshops  |  Photo Gallery

Sharing Success in Supportive Care in Cancer

The 2017 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting on Supportive Care in Cancer was held in Washington, DC, from June 22-24. Scientific Program Chair Rachel Gibson welcomed 961 delegates to the meeting, representing 53 countries. The meeting featured five pre-conference Study Group workshops, plenary sessions on financial toxicity, immunotherapy side effects., and precision medicine, as well as 25 parallel paper sessions and X e-Posters. The meeting also featured a patient seminar on smell and taste perception in people with cancer. Numerous members were recognized with awards and honors, such as the Distinguished Service Award and Outstanding Young Investigator Award.

MASCC Distinguished Service Award: David Warr, MD, FRCPC, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
MASCC’s highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award was presented to David Warr, MD, FRCPC, at this year’s Annual Meeting. Candidates are nominated by their peers, and the Award recognizes meritorious achievement and outstanding contributions to the Society and its mission. David Warr is currently Head of Breast Medical Oncology and Inpatient Solid Tumor Chief at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition, he is an Associate Professor in Medical Oncology and Hematology at the University of Toronto and Active Staff in Medical Oncology and Hematology at Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto. He is on the executive of the Symptom Control Subcommittee of the National Cancer Institute of Canada’s Clinical Trials Group. David was recognized for his many contributions to MASCC over many years. He is the Immediate Past President of the Association and he has served as Vice President (2013-2014), a member of MASCC’s Board of Directors (2006 to 2012), Chair of the Guidelines Committee (2006 to 2012), and Vice-President of the Nominating Committee (2013-2015). He served as Section Editor and on the Editorial Board of Supportive Care in Cancer from 2008 to 2010. Dave is currently Chair of MASCC’s Awards Committee.

Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award - Prue Cormie, PhD, Australia
The Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award is made in recognition of scientific excellence, leadership, and mentoring in the field of supportive care in cancer. This year, the Award was presented to Associate Professor Prue Cormie, PhD, Principal Research Fellow at Australian Catholic University. Her Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Presentation was titled, “One Size Doesn’t Fit All: Responders and Non-responders to Exercise Interventions for Cancer Patients and Survivors.”

2017 Cormie and Mayo

Outstanding Young Investigator Award - Bronwen Mayo, Australia
This year, the MASCC Awards Committee awarded Young Investigator Awards to 10 applicants. Successful applicants must be less than 40 years old, and their abstracts must rank in the top 20% of those submitted. From among the applicants, one Young Investigator awardee is selected each year as the Outstanding Young Investigator. The honor this year went to Bronwen Mayo, a PhD candidate at the University of South Australia in Adelaide, for her research titled “Alterations of Gut Microbiome Associated with Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor-Induced Diarrhoea and Effect of the GLP-2 agonist Elsiglutide.”

Congratulations to all of the other Young Investigators who received awards this year!
Jung-woo Chae (Singapore), Nilupa Gaspe Mudiyanselage (USA), Chao-Pin Hsiao (USA), Tamara Lacourt (USA), Sandip Mukhopadhyay (India), Giulia Ottaviani (Italy), Christina Signorelli (Australia), Angela Wan (Canada), Zhang Xiaotao (USA).

Travel Scholarship Award Winners
Travel scholarships are awarded to applicants from developing countries to help cover travel expenses to attend the MASCC Annual Meeting. This year’s recipients were Binod Acharya (Nepal), Allenidekania Allenidekania (Indonesia), Gulcan Bagcivan (Turkey), Shailendra Dwivedi (India), Mahwish Faizan (Pakistan), JC Kennetth Jacinto (Philippines), Ramona Matei (Romania), Joshua Menang (Cameroon), Raviteja Miryala (India), and Odara SA (Brazil).

Cynthia N. Rittenberg Travel Scholarship Winner
From among the Travel Scholarship applicants, the highest-ranking nurse applicant is awarded the Cynthia N. Rittenberg Travel Scholarship. This year, the award went to Stella Rithara (Kenya).

Fatigue Study Group Junior Investigator and New Investigator Awards
Each year, the Fatigue Study Group selects two outstanding young investigators from among the fatigue-related research abstracts submitted to the meeting. This year, Calvin L. Cole, PhD was awarded the MASCC Fatigue Study Group New Investigator Award for his abstract titled “Interrelationship Between Improvements in Aerobic Capacity and Cancer-Related Fatigue in Prostate Cancer Patients.” Brenda O’Connor, MD, was awarded the MASCC Fatigue Study Group Junior Investigator Award for her abstract titled “Cancer-Related Fatigue: The Role of Mobile Technology in Assessment.” 

MASCC/ ISOO 2016 >> View the Highlights and Awards from Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia  •  June 23-25, 2016
2016 Workshops  |  Abstracts 2016  |  E-Posters  |  2016 Webcasts  |  2016 Photo Gallery