MASCC Headlines

MASCC Headlines

Connect with MASCC in FacebookTwitterYouTube and LinkedIn

MASCC Society News July 2019

In the July 2019 issue, we are pleased to bring you highlights of the 2019 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California, USA, featuring all the award winners. MASCC President Dr. Rajesh Lalla reflects on the Annual Meeting and announces MASCC's newest affiliate. As usual, we include several conference reminders and deadlines. We extend a warm welcome to new members who joined us in May. And we encourage every member to be a voice for MASCC! 

2019 MASCC Distinguished Service Award - Rachel Gibson

Rachel Gibson, PhD, is the recipient of MASCC’s 2019 Distinguished Service Award in recognition of her meritorious achievement and outstanding contributions to the society.

2019 Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award – Jane Ussher

Jane Ussher, PhD, of the University of Western Sydney, Australia, is the winner of MASCC’s 2019 Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award for her research titled “Sexual Issues in Partners of Cancer Patients.”

2019 Young Investigator Awards

The 2019 MASCC Young Investigator Award winners are Rebecca Burgoyne, MPharm (UK), Selina Chow (Canada), Nikesha Gilmore, PhD (USA), Rahat Ul Ain, MBBS, FCPS (Pakistan), and Derek K. Smith, DDS, PhD, who was named Outstanding Young Investigator.

2019 Travel Scholarship Awards

Travel scholarships are awarded to applicants from developing countries to help cover travel expenses to attend the MASCC Annual Meeting. The 2019 recipients were Tomi Kovacevic, MD (Serbia), Ariesta Milanti, RN, MSc (Indonesia), Wanessa Miranda-Silva, DDS (Brazil), Radhika R. Pai, MSc (India), and Pankaj Singhai, MBBS, MD (India).

2019 ISOO Distinguished Service Award — Frederik Spijkervet

Frederik K. (Fred) Spijkervet, DDS, PhD, Head of the Department Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery at the University of Groningen, The Netherlands, is the recipient of ISOO’s 2019 Distinguished Service Award, the Society’s highest honor.

2019 Study Group Awards

At the 2019 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting, seven Study Groups recognized high-quality work by junior investigators in their disciplines and the Fatigue Study Group recognized Debra L. Barton, PhD, FAAN, RN, as Distinguished Scientific Laureate. 

2019 Outstanding Study Group and Study Group Leader Awards

The MASCC Mucositis Study Group was named the 2019 Outstanding Study Group, and Mucositis SG Chair Sharon Elad, DMD, MSc, was named the 2019 Outstanding Study Group Leader.

2019 Annual Meeting Highlights & Reminders

The 2019 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting offers an exciting variety of sessions and speakers, including four Workshops, three Meet-the-Experts sessions, six Joint Sessions with prominent supportive cancer care organizations, networking opportunities, and a Social Media Booth where you can get help setting up social media accounts.

MASCC/ISOO 2019 Plenary Sessions

The 2019 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting will feature three plenary sessions focusing on digital health, treatment toxicities, and sexual health.

<< first < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > last >>

Page 1 of 14